Latest News
John Mackey Award unveils 2014 Preseason Watch List
Courtesy of

John Mackey Award unveils 2014 Preseason Watch List

The John Mackey Award, based out of Freeport, NY, announces the Top Contenders for the 2014 Award

New York, N.Y. (July 8, 2014) – The John Mackey Award has released the 2014 John Mackey Award Preseason Watch List. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2014 John Mackey recipient will be announced on December 10, 2014 and then presented live on December 11, 2014 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU. Other key dates include the announcement of the 2014 Mackey Midseason Watch List on October 13, 2014, the 2014 Mackey Semi-finalists on November 17, 2014 and the 2014 Mackey Finalists on November 24, 2014. All future announcements can be found at

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position.  A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists thirteen alumni to have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham (‘01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark (‘02), Kellen Winslow II (‘03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller (‘04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis (‘05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth (‘06) of the of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis (‘07), Chase Coffman (‘08), Aaron Hernandez (‘09), D.J. Williams (‘10) of the New England Patriots,  Dwayne Allen (’11) of the Indianapolis Colts, Tyler Eifert (’12)  of the Cincinnati Bengals and Austin Seferian-Jenkins (’13) of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

2014 John Mackey Award Watch List

(alphabetical order)

Rory Anderson, Sr, South Carolina

Kennard Backman, Sr, UAB

Blake Bell, Sr, Oklahoma

EJ Bibbs, Sr, Iowa St

Pharaoh Brown, Jr, Oregon

Kyle Carter, Jr, Penn St

Kivon Cartwright, Sr, Colorado St

Gerald Christian, Sr, Louisville

Braxton Deaver, Sr, Duke

Thomas Duarte, So, UCLA

Luke Eakes, Sr, Northern Illinois

Evan Engram, So, Ole Miss

Billy Freeman, So, San Jose St

Darion Griswold, Jr, Arkansas St

Connor Hamlett, Sr, Oregon St

Hunter  Henry, So, Arkansas

Mitchell Henry, Sr, WKU

Jeff Heuerman, Sr, Ohio St

Wyatt Houston, So, Utah St

OJ Howard, So, Alabama

Jesse James, Jr, Penn St

Malcolm Johnson, Sr, Mississippi St

Ben Koyack, Sr, Notre Dame

Tyler Kroft, Jr, Rutgers

Devin Mahina, Sr, BYU

Taylor McNamara, So, Oklahoma

Jimmay Mundine, Sr, Kansas

Johnny Mundt, So, Oregon

De’Marieya Nelson, Sr, Arizona St

Nick O’Leary, Sr, Florida St

Casey Pierce, Sr, Kent St

Sean Price, Jr, USF

Jay Rome, Jr, Georgia

Tyreese  Russell,  Sr, Eastern Michigan

Wes Saxton, Sr, South Alabama

Randall Telfer, Sr, USC

Eric Tomlinson, Sr, UTEP

CJ Uzomah, Sr, Auburn

Clive Walford, Sr, Miami, FL

Maxx Williams, So, Minnesota

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a 12-day period this month. Fifteen of the association’s 21 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates.

Following is the complete 2014 preseason watch list calendar:

Mon., July 7: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award

Tue., July 8: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy

Wed., July 9: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award

Thurs., July 10: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy

Fri., July 11: Jim Thorpe Award

Mon., July 14: Butkus Award / Rotary Lombardi Award

Tue., July 15: Biletnikoff Award

Wed., July 16: Davey O’Brien Award

Thurs., July 17: Doak Walker Award

Fri., July 18: Walter Camp Award

The Friends of John Mackey is responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Please visit to check out our new and improved website for all John Mackey Award related information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *