Latest News
John Mackey Award unveils 2014 Midseason Watch List
Courtesy of

John Mackey Award unveils 2014 Midseason Watch List

The John Mackey Award, based out of Freeport, NY, announces the Top Midseason Contenders for the 2014 Award

New York, N.Y. (October 13, 2014) – The John Mackey Award has released the 2014 John Mackey Award Midseason Watch List. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the award recipient is selected by vote of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee and the 2014 John Mackey recipient will be announced on December 10, 2014 and then presented live on December 11, 2014 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU. Upcoming key dates include the announcement of the 2014 Mackey Semi-finalists on November 17, 2014 and the 2014 Mackey Finalists on November 24, 2014. All future announcements can be found at

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position.  A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists thirteen alumni to have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham (‘01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark (‘02), Kellen Winslow II (‘03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller (‘04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis (‘05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth (‘06) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis (‘07), Chase Coffman (‘08) of the Tennessee Titans, Aaron Hernandez (‘09), D.J. Williams (‘10),  Dwayne Allen (’11) of the Indianapolis Colts, Tyler Eifert (’12)  of the Cincinnati Bengals and Austin Seferian-Jenkins (’13) of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

2014 John Mackey Award Watch List

(alphabetical order)

Rory Anderson, Sr, South Carolina

Kennard Backman, Sr, UAB

EJ Bibbs, Sr, Iowa St

Gerald Christian, Sr, Louisville

Evan Engram, So, Ole Miss

Billy Freeman, So, San Jose St

David Grinnage, So, NC State

Connor Hamlett, Sr, Oregon St

Mitchell Henry, Sr, WKU

Jeff Heuerman, Sr, Ohio St

Bucky Hodges, Fr, Virginia Tech

Austin Hooper, So, Stanford

OJ Howard, So, Alabama

Jesse James, Jr, Penn St

Malcolm Johnson, Sr, Mississippi St

Ben Koyack, Sr, Notre Dame

Tyler Kroft, Jr, Rutgers

Jimmay Mundine, Sr, Kansas

Nick O’Leary, Sr, Florida St

Casey Pierce, Sr, Kent St

Joel Ruiz, Jr, Georgia St

Tyreese Russell, Sr, Eastern Michigan

Wes Saxton, Sr, South Alabama

Cam Serigne, Fr, Wake Forest

Jean Sifrin, Jr, Massachusetts

Justin Sinz, Sr, Purdue

Jonnu Smith, So, FIU

Randall Telfer, Sr, USC

Eric Tomlinson, Sr, UTEP

CJ Uzomah, Sr, Auburn

Clive Walford, Sr, Miami, FL

Alex Welch, Sr, Miami, OH

Maxx Williams, So, Minnesota

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www to learn more about our story.

The Friends of John Mackey is responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Please visit to check out our new and improved website for all John Mackey Award related information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *