Latest News
2014 John Mackey Award Semi-Finalists Announced
Courtesy of

2014 John Mackey Award Semi-Finalists Announced

The John Mackey Award, based out of Freeport, NY

has announced eight Semi-Finalists for the 2014 Mackey Award

Freeport, N.Y. (November 17, 2014) – The John Mackey Award has announced eight semi-finalists for the 2014 John Mackey Award. Listed alphabetically, they are E.J. Bibbs (SR, Iowa State), Evan Engram (SO, Mississippi), Ben Koyack (SR, Notre Dame), Jimmay Mundine (SR, Kansas), Nick O’Leary (SR, Florida State), Jean Sifrin (JR, Massachusetts), Clive Walford (SR, Miami) and Maxx Williams (SO, Minnesota).

The eight semi-finalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the 2014 John Mackey Award recipient will be announced on December 10, 2014 and presented live on December 11, 2014 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show: 6:00 p.m. ET on ESPNU. The 2014 Mackey finalists will be announced on November 24, 2014. All future announcements can be found at and on our official twitter account: @JohnMackeyAward.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position.  A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists thirteen alumni to have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham (‘01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark (‘02), Kellen Winslow II (‘03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller (‘04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis (‘05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth (‘06) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis (‘07), Chase Coffman (‘08) of the Tennessee Titans, Aaron Hernandez (‘09), D.J. Williams (‘10),  Dwayne Allen (’11) of the Indianapolis Colts, Tyler Eifert (’12)  of the Cincinnati Bengals and Austin Seferian-Jenkins (’13) of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

The Friends of John Mackey is responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Please visit for all John Mackey Award related information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *